The Hottest Sports Information, Commentary, News & Events

Muhammad Ali… The Champ Is A King

The Greatest Of All Time

When I was growing up, I remember my father and his boys getting together to discuss The Champ. I recall the loud back and forth they’d share about his greatest moments. The pay-per-view theaters they’d partronize to see The Champ’s biggest fights were always described as electric. It was always an event when The Champ fought.

This man was special, but it wasn’t until I became an adult that I fully understood what The Champ represented. He was pure passion, energy, and vision. He was hope, life, and faith. The Champ gave to the people and was part of the people.

In 2007, we are certainly void of a man of this stature. I have to admit that I’m jealous of my father and the men of his generation. They had lived and enjoyed the best days of The Champ.

Some of the things that made him special are simple yet very profound. He walked with Kings and ate with the homeless. This man was welcomed to every country as an ambassador, yet was once refused service at a restaurant in his hometown. This man won an olympic gold medal for the U.S.A. and was imprisoned by the same for his position on the Vietnam war.

He never blinked nor conceeded what he believed in and spent his best athletic years incarcertated for those beliefs. The Champ had conviction and with that inspired the entire human race.

No longer can he speak as fluid as he once did. The graceful walk is slowed to a shuffle. Parkinson’s disease has impaired him mentally, but The Champ fights another round and is with us today.

I think he’s around until he can pass along his reign to someone worthy. Unfortunately, this generation’s Champ is yet to come.

Peace Champ

3 responses

  1. Juan Rivero

    There will never be another Ali. Can you think of any modern athlete who would sacrifice the most lucrative years of their careers over moral and religious convictions?

    April 12, 2007 at 9:18 pm

  2. scoob1fitness

    Juan, you are correct! There is absolutely not a single athlete at least as “big” as Ali was that would sacrifice their career. There was a young man who played b-ball a few years back, but he wasn’t as “big” as Ali.
    Dre’ Ali was and still is the greatest of all athletes…whenever I find myself steering my boys in the sports direction, I always find myself introducing them to Ali books, Movies, and even the recent ESPN special.
    Thanks for allowing me to share Dre’.

    Scoob1fitness (York)”Scoob86″

    April 20, 2007 at 4:00 am

  3. Marc (aka C-Cut)

    i feel old because i can remember some of ali’s big fights like it was yesterday. plus, back in those days, the fights were FREE and usually came on abc’s wide world of sports. the one that sticks in my mind is being the bronx at my uncle’s house with my whole fam watching the ali-foreman fight. to me, he was like a hero in the way he took down that huge man named big george. but, to my dad and uncles, he was much more. like u guys have said, he represented hope and determination in the face of adversity. hank aaron was another who fit that mold as was arthur ashe, but neither had the ability to captivate the WORLD the way ali did and still does.
    i don’t think there will ever be another like ali.

    marc (aka c-cut)

    April 20, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Leave a Reply

