The Hottest Sports Information, Commentary, News & Events

Forget Unbelievable, BIG was Inspirational!

“Live from Bedford Stuyvesant, the livest one, representin BK to the fullest…”

This was the essence of what the Notorious B.I.G. stood for.  He put on for his city way before Young Jeezy and Yeezy made it cool to do so.

While the countdown to the historic hip-hop biopic Notorious continues, I have been getting amped up by playing Biggie’s first album Ready To Die. Biggie came so hard on this album, especially with songs like “Gimme the Loot,” “Ready to Die,” Me & My B****.” 

Listening to Biggie’s first album, you can’t help but to be inspired.

His lyrics were motivational.

“It was all a dream, I used to read Word Up magazine…”

Descriptive.

“So we can steam on the way to the telly go fill my belly, A t-bone steak, cheese eggs and Welch’s grape…”

Candor.

f*** the world, f*** my moms, and my girl. My life is played out like a jheri curl, I’m ready to die!”

There was so much passion in this album that it’s almost impossible to listen and not feel his everyday struggle. He had a song for however you are feeling at the time.

Are you a little down? Skip to “Everyday Struggle.”

Are you feeling  yourself? Jump to “Big Poppa.”

Were you dogged out by a woman? Listen to “Friend of Mine.”

Big incorporated it all into his work. Which leads me to believe that no matter how “great” his new movie may be, it can never fully capture the full character of Christopher Wallace.

As I continue to anticipate the release of the movie, I will continue to be inspired by the work he did on his debut album.

 Just remember that…

Biggie Smalls is the illest, your style is played out like Arnold wondered, ‘What you talkin bout Willis?'”

Leave a Reply

